Top Ten Tuesday, Weekly Posts

Top Ten Tuesday – Freebie (Ten Spooky-Season Books for Those of Us Who Hate to be Scared)

I’ve decided to join the fun of Top Ten Tuesday! Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature run by That Artsy Reader Girl where you choose ten books to fit a weekly prompt. I’ve been reading these for a while and they’re really fun so I decided to join in. Of course, the first week I decided to join was a “Halloween Freebie” so I get to pick my own topic with a Halloween twist. I’m not really into scary books, I get too spooked but I do like a little bit of a fall or spooky theme for my October reads. So here are my suggestions of 10 books that fit into the fall/Halloween/spooky category but don’t scare even this big scaredy cat.

Under The Whispering Door by TJ Klune

I read this in August before it was published and I did enjoy it but really think it would be better to read in the fall. The tea shop setting would be such a cozy read under a blanket with a cup of tea and the themes in this book around ghosts and death are certainly in the spooky realm without being scary at all.

Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire

Every Heart a Doorway is such a little gem of a book and so incredibly weird. The setting and idea of these other worlds paired with a bizarre cast of characters and a murder mystery gives a touch of fall/spooky vibes without being too scary and it’s short enough to read in a single day so you get your answers without needing to sleep on it.

The Inheritance Games by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

This was such a fun read and different from what I normally pick up. The mysterious house with hidden passages, a cast of suspicious characters, and a mystery to solve add to a bit of a spooky read but it’s all done in a way that had me hooked and invested in the plot without being scared.

The Cassidy Blake Series by Victoria Schwab

This is a middle grade series and while it would have definitely scared me when I was younger, I really enjoyed them as an adult. Victoria Schwab’s writing is just as good as ever and the way Cassidy is able to go through the veil and see ghosts is pretty cool.

The Shadows Between Us by Tricia Levenseller

There’s nothing particularly spooky about this book but it’s a dark story with morally grey characters and it has that awesome cover, it just gives me the vibes that match this season. I found this book incredibly fast and fun to read.

Truly Devious by Maureen Johnson

This entire series fits perfectly as a mystery that isn’t really scary. I really enjoyed the original trilogy and have the fourth one sitting on my shelf to be read soon. These walked the line for me of me not knowing what was going to happen and being really invested without tipping me over into scared or jumping at small noises (again, I’m a total and complete wimp).

Recursion by Blake Crouch

If you can’t read actual scary stuff, a mind-bending thriller will do the trick and Recursion was the perfect blend of thriller and sci-fi for me. This book had me on the edge of my seat wanting to know what would happen next.

The Paper Magician by Charlie N. Holmberg

If you’re in the mood for a quick magical read, The Paper Magician series is perfect. I really enjoy all of Holmberg’s books and there’s something about this series that’s so entertaining. The magic, a little suspense, and a paper skeleton who walks around really make this one fit with fall in my mind.

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

You either love it or you hate it, but I don’t think anyone can deny the mysterious and magical vibes from The Night Circus are perfect for fall. It’s been years since I read it (and frankly, I’m scared to read it again at this point because I usually don’t like purple prose) but I loved my time in this mysterious world that’s so beautifully written.

Ace of Spades by Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé

There is no bad time to read this incredible book but if you haven’t pick it up yet and want a not-too-scary thriller, it’s time to crack this one open.

That’s it, I hope you enjoyed! Let me know in the comments what your favorite, not-too-spooky fall reads are.

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Freebie (Ten Spooky-Season Books for Those of Us Who Hate to be Scared)”

  1. Great list! I’m a fairly big wimp as well, so I read haunting books more than scary books. I listed my go-to authors for those kinds of reads today and Blake Crouch and Maureen Johnson are both on it. I also enjoyed THE INHERITANCE GAMES. I picked up the sequel today at the library and I can’t wait to read it.

    Happy TTT!

    Susanhttp://www.blogginboutbooks.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment